Application for Cigarette and Tobacco Products Retail License

Submit to municipal clerk.

License Fee: \$100
Compliance Fee: \$50
Total Fees: \$150

MUNICIPAL USE ONLY
License Number
Period Covered
Date of Issuance

Applicant's Wisconsin 15-digit Sales Tax Account Number This must be issued in the same Legal Name of the licensee below.									Date of Issuance				
Legal Name (corporation, limited liability company, partnership or sole proprietorship)									Federal Employer Identification No. (FEIN)				
Trade or Business Name (if different than Legal Name)									Telephone Number				
Business Address (License Location)						Business Located In City Village Town				Business Telephone			
Municipality State Zip Code					of:				County				
Mailing Address (if different than Business Address)						Municipality				State	e Zip Code		
Organization Sole Prop Partnersl Other (de	prietor nip	□ W		n Corporati ate Corpora			-		siness in V	Viscons	sin?] Yes 🔲 No	
Yes	No											roducts only fro ent of Revenue	
Yes	No	untaxeo availab	Does the applicant understand that they must obtain a Tobacco Products Distributor permit if purchasing untaxed tobacco products from an out-of-state company? (Tobacco Products Distributor permit is available from the Wisconsin Department of Revenue at 608-266-6701. See application form CTP-129, revenue.wi.gov/dorforms/ctp-129.pdf.)										
Yes	No		Does the applicant understand that they cannot purchase/exchange cigarettes or tobacco products from another retailer, including transferring existing stock to a new owner?										
Yes	No		Does the applicant understand that they must provide employees with tobacco sales training approved by the Wisconsin Department of Health Services? (https://witobaccocheck.org)										
Yes	No		Does the applicant understand that they may not sell, give or otherwise provide cigarettes/tobacco products and nicotine products to minors (including electronic cigarettes containing nicotine)?										
Yes	No	6. Does th	ne appl	icant unde	erstand th	nat they m	nay not	sell sin	gle cigare	ettes?			
Yes	No	license Wiscon	. Does the applicant understand that cigarette and tobacco products invoices must be kept on the licensed premises for two years from the date of the invoice and be available for inspection by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue/law enforcement and that failure to comply can result in criminal penalties, including loss of cigarettes/tobacco products?										
Yes	No	8. Does the applicant understand that only cigarettes and roll-your-own (RYO) tobacco products listed on the Wisconsin Department of Justice's website labeled "Directory of Certified Tobacco Manufacturers and Brands" at www.doj.state.wi.us/dls/tobacco-directory may be sold in Wisconsin?											
Cigarettes /	Tobacco wi	ill be sold		over c	ounter		throug	h vend	ing mach	ine	bo	oth	
been truthful that the right por-tion of a	ly answered is and respo licensed pro revocation o	to the best onsibilities emises dur of this licen	t of the conferreing insp nse. An	knowledge ed by the I pection will	of the ap license(s) l be deen	oplicant. A), if grante ned a refu	pplicant d, cann sal to p	agrees ot be a ermit in	to operat ssigned to spection.	e this b anoth Such r	usiness ac er.Any lack efusal is a	ove questions h cording to law and cof access to a misdemeanor and pplication may	

Applicable Laws and Rules

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws and regulations in effect as of September 19, 2019: Sections 134.65, 134.66, 139.321, 139.79, 139.76, 995.10, and 995.12, Wis. Stats.

Email:

(Officer of Corporation / Member / Manager of Limited Liability Company / Partner / Individual)



5 Counties for Tobacco-Free Living

Fond du Lac Green Lake Marquette Washington

& Waushara Counties

160 S. Macy St. Fond du Lac, WI 54935 (920) 929-3085 Fax (920)929-3102

Our mission is creating nicotine and tobacco-free environments in which we live, work, and play while promoting healthy lifestyles through education, advocacy, and policy.

Tobacco Retailer,

Wisconsin Wins is part of a comprehensive approach to preventing youth access to tobacco. The Wisconsin Department of Health Services contracts with local partners to conduct investigations to establish retailer compliance with the law.

The Fond du Lac County Health Department working with "Five Counties for Tobacco-Free Living Coalition" conducts random tobacco retailer compliance checks. These checks are authorized by Wisconsin Statute §254.916 and help Wisconsin be in compliance with Federal SAMHSHA SYNAR Program. SYNAR mandates states to maintain a compliance rate of less than 20 percent of tobacco sales to minors or risk losing \$10 Million in Federal Substance abuse prevention funding

Vape shops will also be included in the random checks as well as taverns. Under state statute minors are allowed to enter a tavern for the purpose of a scheduled tobacco retailer compliance check when working with the Wisconsin Wins Program.

Free on-line employee training is available at www.witobaccocheck.org. After passing the on-line exam the employee will receive a certificate of completion that will meet state statute requirements for employee training.

Although employees complete training, periodically reviewing tips to increase their ability to identify a minor's ID and avoid mistakes can increase their ability to refuse a sale to a minor. Under FDA requirements, all tobacco retailers must check the photo ID of anyone under the age of 27 who attempts to purchase any tobacco product.

It is the goal of the "Five Counties for Tobacco-Free Living Coalition" to help tobacco retailers and their employees be successful in keeping tobacco out of the hands of minors. We offer educational resources and training tips to ensure employees ask for and know how to read a Wisconsin driver's license correctly.

For more information, please contact Sandy Bernier "Five Counties for Tobacco-Free Living" at 920-906-5537.

SUGGESTED TRAINING TIPS

It is the business owner's responsibility to ensure that their employees complete tobacco retailer training and have proof of completion of the training in the employee's file. Free on-line employee training is available at www.Witobaccocheck.org. Passing the on-line exam will provide the employee with a certificate of completion that will meet state statute requirements for employee training. Even after the employee has completed the mandated training regularly reviewing tips such as those below could help the employee successfully deny a sale to a minor.

- Ask for a photo ID for anyone who appears to be under the age of 27 who asks to purchase a tobacco product per FDA regulation as of June 22, 2010.
- Look at the person handing you the ID to make sure the photo matches the person presenting the photo ID.
- Look for Wisconsin Driver's License/ID cards in a vertical format for those under 18 and 21 years of age.
- Identify the month, day, and year that the person turns 18 in a yellow box or listed under their picture.
- ❖ Do **NOT** rely solely on a Calendar" or the register. If the register beeps after scanning the ID or entering the person's date of birth **DO NOT override the cash register**. Look at the ID again instead of assuming you made an error.
- Confirm the reason the cash register is beeping, is it because the person is a minor?
- Ask for help from a co-worker or manager if you have trouble identifying the age of the person requesting tobacco.
- Selling any type of tobacco to minors is illegal, which includes but is not limited to candy flavored tobacco products, e-cigarettes containing nicotine, or nicotine juice.
- Deny a sale to a minor by stating "I cannot sell tobacco to you, you are not 18 years old".
- Protect yourself, a violation is punishable by a fine of up to \$500.00 for the first offense; and between \$200.00 and \$500.00 for the second and subsequent violations within 12 months.
- Practice asking for an ID, practice identifying a minor's ID, and practice refusing the sale.
- These training tips are not meant to be all inclusive.
 For more information about tobacco control initiatives contact Sandy Bernier, Tobacco Control Program Coordinator for "5 Counties for Tobacco-Free Living" at (920) 906-5537.

DIFFERENT DESIGNS? SAME

Wisconsin's vertical IDs don't always look the same, but they mean the same thing: your customer may be under 18. Here's what you should do:

- Look for the dates under their photo.
- Check the date they turn 18. Is it in the future?
- If it's in the future, they're not old enough to buy tobacco. Don't make the sale.







Get free tobacco sales training at smokecheck.org

Must Be 18 Years Old to Purchase

- It's illegal to sell e-cigarettes and e-juice containing nicotine to anyone under 18
- Even though these products come in candy flavors they are still illegal to sell to minors
- Retailers and employees face penalties for selling to minors

Every Sale Matters

- Always verify age by checking ID
- Get required training learn the facts about Wisconsin's tobacco and e-cigarette sales laws at www.witobaccocheck.org

Flavored Tobacco: Must be 18 Years Old to Purchase

Tobacco products may come in candy flavors but they are still tobacco products

When you keep tobacco away from minors, ever/body wins.





e-hookahs, vape pens

